NIAGARA COUNTY LEGISLATURE

FROM: Legislators Richard E. Abbott and pATE: 01/17/23 RESOLUTION# IL-003-23
Anthony J. Nemi ,
APPROVED BY REVIEWED BY COMMITTEE ACTION LEGISLATIVE ACTION
CO. ATTORNEY CO. MANAGER Approved: Ayes _ Abs. Noes_ O
! = - ) Rejected: Ayes . Abs. Noes
Referred:

ADOPTION OF A LOCAL LAW AMENDING LOCAL LAW NO. 3 FOR THE YEAR 2016
APPLICABLE TO THE REAL PROPERTY TAX EXEMPTION
FOR PERSONS SIXTY-FIVE YEARS OF AGE OR OVER

WHEREAS, Legislators Rlchald Abbott and Anthony Nerm recommend the adoption of-the
following Local Law:

A Local Law amending Local Law No. 3 for the year 2016 apphcable to the real property tax exemption
for persons sixty-five years of age or over;

WHEREAS, a public hearmg was held on the 17" day of January, 2023 at 5:45 p.m. in the Legislative
Chambers, Courthouse, Lockport, New York, on said Local Law, and _

WHEREAS, ,,5 P, : appeared to speak on said Local _Law, and

' WHEREAS no amendment(s) was (were) made to said Loeal Law, now, therefore be it

RESOLVED that a Local Law of the County of Nlagara, New York amendlng Local Law No. 3 for the
yea1 2016 applicable to the real property tax exemption for persons 31xty -five years of age or over be enacted by
the County Legislature of the County of Niagara, as follows:

L Local Law No. 3 for the year 2016, and the same hereby is, amended so as to increase the
income levels for the real property tax exemption for persons sixty-five years of age or older from a base of
$21,000.00 — $28,499.99 to $26,200.00 - $33,700.00:

Section 1. Real property owned by one or more persons, each of whom is sixty-five
years of age or over, or real property owned by husband and wife, or by siblings, one of whom is
sixty-five years of age or over, shall be exempt from taxation for County purposes to the extent as
provided in the following schedule: :

ANNUAL INCOME EXEMPTION PERCENT

Lessthan:  $26,200 , o 50%
From: $26,200 to . $27,199.99 ' A%
. $27200 to $28,199.99 40%
$28,200 to $29,199.99 : 35%
$29,200 to $30,099.99 30%
$30,100 - to  $30,999.99 25%
$31,000 to $31,899.99 20%
$31,900 to $32,799.99 15%

$32,800 to $33,700.00 o R 10%
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2, This Local Law shall become effective March 1, 2023 and this schedule shall be employed by all
Niagara County assessing units in the preparation of any assessment roll prepared subsequent to such date.
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